On the pattern of the colonial Irish constabulary, Sir Charles Napier established a police system in Sindh in 1843. The British Army Officers closely supervised and controlled forces which were resultantly more disciplined, efficient and not corrupt. Influenced by the success of Napier’s police, the Court of Directors of the East India Company suggested that a common system of police be established on the pattern of Irish Constabulary.

The British Indian Government set up a Police Commission headed by Mr. H. M. Court in 1860. One of the policy directives to the Police Commission of 1860 was that "though the duties of the police should be entirely civil, not military, the organization and discipline of the police should be similar to those of a military body". The present police system in our country has been established under this Character.
The Punjab Police Rules were framed in 1934, which still govern the police organisations in the north Indian States of Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Delhi, Chandigarh and Haryana.

The State of Haryana was carved out of Punjab on 1st of November, 1966.

At that time it comprised of one police Range and 6 districts and had a strength of 12165 personnel. Today, the State is divided into 5 Ranges, 4 Police Commissionerates - Gurugram, Faridabad, Panchkula, Sonipat and 19 districts besides the Railway Police district.

Now, Haryana Police has a total Sanctioned strength of 73391 (Gazetted Officers/470, Inspectors/1086, Sub Inspectors/3680, Assistant Sub Inspectors/6182, Head Constables/12778, Constables/49195).

Last update on 02/01/2023
Number of Visits: 108257460
Content on this website is published and managed by Haryana Police Department. For any query regarding this website please, Contact the "Web Information Manager: Insp Rajesh Kumar, M.No. 7009708305, IT Cell, Police Headquarters, Panchkula."

© 2023 Haryana Police | Best view on 1024 by 768 Pixel